Thanking HaShem

How often do you thank HaShem for what He is doing in your life?  We should be doing this every day and not just once in the morning or at bedtime.  He is constantly doing things for us and taking an active role in our lives.  Thank Him.  We know that all things come from HaShem and all things are for the very best.  This is the basis for emunah.   As you go through your day, try and realize the things He is doing for you.  It is easy to get caught up in our lives and all those things we think are so important.

What are some of the things He is doing in your life?  Do you get up in the morning and trudge off to work?  Many people don’t acknowledge all of the things He has done even before you get in the car.  He gave you life for another day.  That’s easy to see and most of us take it for granted.  But there are more things He is doing. He has been showering us with gifts from the dawn of time.

Don’t Get Fooled by the Illusion

A typical morning, for me, starts somewhere between 4am and 5am.  I get up, make a pot of coffee, take a shower, say my prayers, get ready for work, and finally leave the house.  Did you catch all those gifts from HaShem?  Let’s take a closer look.  I get up from a comfortable bed which is in a house.  So, I’m not sleeping on the ground outside in the elements. Then I go downstairs and make a pot of coffee.  We have running water in our house.  Many people in this world do not.  I get the coffee out of the cabinet.  The coffee comes from the grocery store so I don’t have to grow the beans, roast them, and then make the coffee.  Thank you HaShem for coffee. Coffee doesn’t even grow in this part of the world.  But there it sits, in my cabinet.  We have an electric coffee pot, so no starting a fire and boiling the water to make the coffee.

Next, I take a shower.  HaShem is good to us.  Again, we have running water, which is heated and ready-made soap and shampoo. There is no jumping in the cold river at 5am for me.  He’s also made available towels, hair dryers, combs, and brushes just for my convenience.  I have clean clothes to put on as well.  Now that I’m wide awake and ready to focus I have my prayer time.  One of the greatest gifts HaShem has given us is the ability to communicate with Him.  Thank you, HaShem for letting me talk to you.  Now all that is left is to change into my work clothes, kiss my wife goodbye and I’m out the door.  There is another great gift from HaShem. He gave me a wife who loves me and cares for me.  As someone who married rather late in life, I realize how much of a blessing my wife really is.

So there is my morning in a nutshell.  I think I have it pretty good, and no I don’t think I deserve any of it.  I try to remember these gift every day and to thank Him for them.  Sometimes I slip and feel bad for neglecting to thank Him.  It’s not that I’m ungrateful, it’s because I am human and sometimes things slip my mind.  This is why we should thank Him often. So that we don’t let it slip our minds.

This generation has it so good.  HaShem has given us so much.  The things we have today make our lives extremely easy.  That is how much HaShem loves us.  It is my opinion that He loves women just a little bit more than men.  Throughout history, women have been treated badly by men.  This treatment has been completely undeserved and has not gone unnoticed by HaShem.  He sees everything.  Men have even used the Bible to justify this poor treatment.  We are all His creations and He loves all of us.

Since women have been treated badly, He has given them more than men. All through history, it has been women that have taken care of the house and the children.  Let’s look at some of the things He has given to make this easier.  We have running water, as I mentioned, but also electric appliances like stoves, dishwashers, washing machines and dryers.  We have a myriad of cleaning supplies and tools to make things easier.  He’s given us grocery stores, pharmacies, and clothing stores, disposable diapers, rocking chairs, and schools.

One problem we have is that we don’t think He gave us these things. We think we did them.  Mankind likes to take credit for the things that we have.  But everything is from HaShem.   After reading this, I don’t want you to just be thankful.  Thank Him.

Copyright 2016 by:

William Bouker

Leave a Reply

